Customer Reviews

21 Reviews
5 star:
(1)
4 star:
(0)
3 star:
(0)
2 star:
(0)
1 star:
(14)
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Search Customer Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
55555

Excellent service. Previous review is not what my experience has been. Highly recommended. Saved me thousands of dollars per year.
Published 8 years 9 months 29 days ago by J Maarten

> See more 5 star , 4 star reviews
versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
11111

I've been trying to close my account with this company. I had to close my bank account to get away from this company. DON'T use them. AVOID at any cost!!!!
Published 9 years 9 months 4 days ago by Jennifer

> See more 3 star , 2 star , 1 star reviews

< Previous 1 2 3 | Next > Most Helpful | Newest First
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Sage Payment Solutions Review by Jennifer, August 21, 2009

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • Not Rated

I’ve been trying to close my account with this company. I had to close my bank account to get away from this company. DON’T use them. AVOID at any cost!!!!

Was this helpful to you ? Yes No
Click to rate Rating (0)
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Sage Payment Solutions Review by Jay Rakholia, October 13, 2010

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

This is one of the WORST credit card processing company. We FAXED 90 days cancellation notice in May, and they did not cancel our contract, and kept charging me. When I called, they said, they never received fax, and account was automatically renewed for 3 more years. Now they charged me $525 as early termination fee. PLEASE DO NOT USE THEM, THEY ARE A TOTALLY RIP OFF.

Was this helpful to you ? Yes No
Click to rate Rating (0)
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Sage Payment Solutions Review by J Maarten, July 26, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Excellent service. Previous review is not what my experience has been. Highly recommended. Saved me thousands of dollars per year.

Was this helpful to you ? Yes No
Click to rate Rating (0)
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Sage Payment Solutions Review by Peter Pelland, March 21, 2011

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

My company works with several hundred small businesses, providing a wide range of Internet and printing-related services. We have built online commerce websites for many of our clients. In some instances, these small businesses have not made arrangements to process credit card transactions or are seeking to make a change in their credit card merchant services provider. After a bad experience with another company, my research led me to Sage Payment Solutions, a division of Harris Bank, in late March of 2009. I set up an account for my own company and agreed to provide referrals to clients who might be in need of these services. The referral agreement that I signed is dated March 27, 2009. I never should have signed that agreement, and the working relationship with Sage proved to be even worse than my bad experience with the previous merchant services provider.

Soon after I had made the first two or three referrals, I began to realize that Divina A. Rutherford, the “senior account executive” (called a “referral agent” on the agreement) assigned to our account at Sage Payment Solutions, was using high-pressure sales techniques and attempting to sell our clients services that they did not need, a practice which was totally inconsistent with our company’s standards. At that point, I stopped referring our clients to Sage Payment Solutions and found another merchant services provider for my own company’s credit card transactions.

Unfortunately, once you sign an agreement with Sage Payment Solutions, it is very difficult to terminate that agreement. Time and again, over the course of these two years, I have had ACH debits from our bank account for specific services which we were not utilizing and which I had not authorized. I had to contact Sage Payment Solutions on several occasions to get these debits credited back to our account. Each time, I would explain that I would like to end our agreement; however, entering into an agreement with Sage Payment Solutions is akin to being held hostage.

On March 7, 2011, I received a statement in the mail from Sage Payment Solutions with a charge of $11.35 that was deducted from our account. This charge consisted of $9.25 for an “Annual 6050W Tax Filing” and $2.10 for “6050W Monthly Reporting”. This was the straw that broke the camel’s back. I contacted Ms. Rutherford and James Cummings, the Director of Project Management & Compliance working out of Sage’s offices in Lawrenceville, Georgia, who had assisted me in previous instances. My only response came from Ms. Rutherford, who wrote, “The charges for the IRS annual 6050W filing is (sic) required by the IRS from reporting entities to report payment card transactions and third party network transactions to the IRS for each calendar year beginning January 1,2011. As a result of this, we, Sage will be required to file an annual information return with the IRS and provide merchant payee with a corresponding form 1099-K, reporting monthly and annual gross sales, thus we have also the monthly reporting fee of $2.10. Again, this is a requirement from IRS and we are just in compliance. All processors not only us are required to do so. Thank you.” I replied that I understood the new IRS filing requirements; however, the IRS does not require that any fees be charged for the preparation and filing of those forms. I pointed out that I supply my company’s independent contractors with 1099-MISC forms, and that I never heard of a company attempting to charge a fee for doing so. I made it very clear that I wanted to cancel our account (that we have not used in nearly two years) and terminate our agreement.

I was sent a merchant account cancellation request from which I faxed back to Sage Payment Solutions on March 9, 2011. The single-page form included two instances of language which referenced termination fees. I crossed out and initialed both occurrences of that language. Nobody subsequently contacted me with any indication that there was any sort of problem with those revisions, which were an essential part of the document that I signed. A week later, a $600.00 termination fee was debited from our bank account by Sage Payment Solutions. This is a serious matter and a charge that was made, not only without my authorization, but contrary to my specific intention. I called this to the attention of Divina Rutherford and James Cummings in an e-mail on March 16, 2011, clearly expecting to be reimbursed for this fraudulent charge. Other than an e-mail read receipt, there has been no response from either Ms. Rutherford or Mr. Cummings.

I cannot overemphasize my warning to anybody who may be considering doing business with Sage Payment Solutions. Based upon my experience, and the experience of others, you will get burned.

Was this helpful to you ? Yes No
Click to rate Rating (0)
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Sage Payment Solutions Review by BJ, December 13, 2011

I love Sage My old processor has been ripping me off for years. Sage reduced my bill by hundreds each month. I have never had any problems. They even told me that I could get a rate review once a year if I thought I was being over charged. You can’t get any better than that.

Was this helpful to you ? Yes No
Click to rate Rating (0)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Sage Payment Solutions Review by e erwin, January 5, 2011

I’ve had the same problem with this company. They have been charging me an annual fee which was not in my contract. Have been trying to cancel with them and getting the runaround. I agree, they are a TOTAL RIPOFF>

Was this helpful to you ? Yes No
Click to rate Rating (0)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Sage Payment Solutions Review by Sandi Hudson, January 11, 2011

I’ve also experienced horrible treatment with Sage. Numerous calls for help with issues, and finally cancellation, fell on deaf ears. They have yet to produce a signed contract as I’ve requested over and over. Even after sending them a registered letter, with the receipt returned to me as proof of receipt, Sage denies receiving my cancellation. They continue to charge my bank account and in spite of threats to file suit, they refuse to return the charges. Also, you can’t speak to anyone in charge other than the supervisor – the president, vice president, CEO, COO don’t talk to clients. I’ve NEVER dealt with a company with such atrocious behavior and policies.

Was this helpful to you ? Yes No
Click to rate Rating (0)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Sage Payment Solutions Review by Laura, January 12, 2011

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

I was suckered into switching credit card processing service companies. The salesman was smooth and reassuring. He made numerous claims that have since turned out to be false. I would never, ever work with Sage Payment Solutions again. For the past 3 months I have spent numerous hours emailing and calling to get our account straightened out. Today I contacted the customer service department and they put me on hold to contact the sales department to get things straightened out and the poor guy got back on the phone and told me he ended up back at his own number, he couldn’t get through to his own sales department. These are the kind of issues I have been dealing with. Sage opened 3 accounts in our name initially even though we only needed 1. Then the corrected the 1 account and left the 2 others in place and are charging us monthly fees for accounts that we don’t need and didn’t ask for. Now they say if we don’t go through the sales department to get this straightened out we be charged an $800 early cancellation fee (for each account) that we should have in the first place. Problem is, they automatically deduct their fees from our checking account so we are stuck, we have to jump through their hoops and hope they get it right. Then they started charging another $25 per month fee which we didn’t authorize. I have been told we would get these fees refunded – that was 2 months ago and still haven’t seen the refund and still being charged the bogus fees. What a mess this has been.

Was this helpful to you ? Yes No
Click to rate Rating (0)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Sage Payment Solutions Review by Laura, March 21, 2011

I was suckered into switching credit card processing service companies. The salesman was smooth and reassuring. He made numerous claims that have since turned out to be false. I would never, ever work with Sage Payment Solutions again. For the past 3 months I have spent numerous hours emailing and calling to get our account straightened out. Today I contacted the customer service department and they put me on hold to contact the sales department to get things straightened out and the poor guy got back on the phone and told me he ended up back at his own number, he couldn’t get through to his own sales department. These are the kind of issues I have been dealing with. Sage opened 3 accounts in our name initially even though we only needed 1. Then the corrected the 1 account and left the 2 others in place and are charging us monthly fees for accounts that we don’t need and didn’t ask for. Now they say if we don’t go through the sales department to get this straightened out we be charged an $800 early cancellation fee (for each account) that we should have in the first place. Problem is, they automatically deduct their fees from our checking account so we are stuck, we have to jump through their hoops and hope they get it right. Then they started charging another $25 per month fee which we didn’t authorize. I have been told we would get these fees refunded – that was 2 months ago and still haven’t seen the refund and still being charged the bogus fees. What a mess this has been.

Was this helpful to you ? Yes No
Click to rate Rating (0)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Sage Payment Solutions Review by Jon, April 20, 2011

  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 11111

We got hit with a chargeback and not only did they debit our account while under review, they debited twice, that’s 10k for a 5k chargeback. It caused us to loose business and accounts because we could not pay bills. We had to call and submit special paperwork to get the money owed returned. Never got a reason for why we were being debited double the amount.

Was this helpful to you ? Yes No
Click to rate Rating (0)
< Previous 1 2 3 | Next > Most Helpful | Newest First

Write a Review